The Narrow Gate Podcast
The Narrow Gate Podcast
Codependency, The Silent Killer: Are You Codependent, or Do You Even Know What That Means?
0:00
-57:49

Codependency, The Silent Killer: Are You Codependent, or Do You Even Know What That Means?

I had a wrong understanding of codependency which made it difficult for me to acknowledge that I had a lot of the traits

In this podcast, I want to explain what codependency is as the name is confusing. It doesn’t make sense which is preventing people from getting healed.

I share my own story as I had these traits, but as with all disorders, there are varying levels. I had it bad enough to cause me a lot of pain and confusion, but I did not stay in any relationship with a narcissistic man for long.

But, still, I felt the hurt, particularly in one relationship where I couldn’t understand why this guy was so difficult to get along with. He was horrible, yet everyone in my life thought he was the best thing since sliced bread.

So, this made it a lonely journey for me. When I decided to get away from him, everyone blamed me, rolling their eyes to heaven and saying, I was too fussy.

They couldn’t see why I would not be perfectly happy with him. He had everything any girl would dream of.

I suffered alone with that abuse.

I got over it, but it took a few years and it wasn’t until about 15 years later that I met a similar character. He looked like the perfect soul mate. He was good-looking, charming, intelligent, and liked by everyone.

I was taken in again, but I didn’t go out with him, but I spent time with him. Enough time to be hurt and confused. It was during these years that I finally found the answer to my relationship problems. I was codependent.

If you listen to the podcast, I explain more about my recovery.

The good news is.. you can heal from codependency!

My goal is to raise awareness.


Below are other articles I have written on this subject…


The two articles above are for paid subscribers, but if you follow me on Medium you can find a few pieces I have written there on codependency.

Thank you for listening!


Hosea 4:6

Proverbs 29:25

Ross Rosenberg—The Human Magnet Syndrome


Image by Heath Mount on Unsplash

Discussion about this podcast

The Narrow Gate Podcast
The Narrow Gate Podcast
This podcast is a follow-on from The Narrow Gate Newsletter. We are discussing the journey of healing, growth, and transformation from a Christian perspective.