The Narrow Gate
The Narrow Gate Podcast
Is the "Inner Child" Concept Relevant in Christian Healing & If So, How Can we Use It?
0:00
-43:27

Is the "Inner Child" Concept Relevant in Christian Healing & If So, How Can we Use It?

Episode # 16

God is our healer

 “If you listen carefully to the Lord your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you pay attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any of the diseases I brought on the Egyptians, for I am the Lord, who heals you.”

Exodus 15:26


God is our protector

If you say, “The Lord is my refuge,”
    and you make the Most High your dwelling,
no harm will overtake you,
    no disaster will come near your tent.
For he will command his angels concerning you
    to guard you in all your ways;
they will lift you up in their hands,
    so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.
You will tread on the lion and the cobra;
    you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

“Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him;
    I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.
He will call on me, and I will answer him;
    I will be with him in trouble,
    I will deliver him and honor him.
 With long life I will satisfy him
    and show him my salvation.”

Psalm 91:9-16

Faith heals

The Canaanite woman’s faith

“Then Jesus said to her, “Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.” And her daughter was healed at that moment.”

Matthew 15:28

Jesus heals a blind beggar

“Jesus stopped and ordered the man to be brought to him. When he came near, Jesus asked him, “What do you want me to do for you?”

“Lord, I want to see,” he replied.

Jesus said to him, “Receive your sight; your faith has healed you.” Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus, praising God. When all the people saw it, they also praised God.”

Luke 18:35-43

The Greatest Commandment

Now one of the scribes had come up and heard their debate. Noticing how well Jesus had answered them, he asked Him, “Which commandment is the most important of all?”

Jesus replied, “This is the most important: ‘Hear O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is One. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.”

Mark 12:28-31

The Narrow Gate
How Love Healed my Life & Restored my Peace
Reflecting on my journey of healing, led me to the conclusion that love heals. When I started on my journey of healing, I hadn’t looked too far ahead, I just knew I needed to feel better. I could no longer live with the emotional pain that seemed to be dominating my life in my 20’s…
Read more

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.”

2 Corinthians 5:17-19

Becoming mature in our faith

“I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready.”

1 Corinthians. 3:2

Getting Beyond the Fundamentals—Move beyond the elementary teaching of the faith and into maturity.

Therefore let us move beyond the elementary teachings about Christ and be taken forward to maturity, not laying again the foundation of repentance from acts that lead to death, and of faith in God, instruction about cleansing rites, the laying on of hands, the resurrection of the dead, and eternal judgment. (Hebrews 6:1–2 NIV)

Praise the Lord, my soul;
    all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
Praise the Lord, my soul,
    and forget not all his benefits—
who forgives all your sins
    and heals all your diseases,
 who redeems your life from the pit
    and crowns you with love and compassion,
who satisfies your desires with good things
    so that your youth is renewed like the eagles’.

Psalm 103:1-5

Thank you for listening!

Disclaimer:

The content in this podcast is provided for educational purposes and is not meant to take the place of medical advice. Please consult your doctor if you are concerned about your health.

I am a Christian life coach and have been on my healing journey for over twenty years now, so I am speaking from my own experiences and studies.

Image by Petra Österreich on Pixabay

0 Comments
The Narrow Gate
The Narrow Gate Podcast
This podcast is a follow-on from The Narrow Gate Newsletter. We are discussing the journey of healing, growth, and transformation from a Christian perspective.